Home › Nursing Homes by State › Alabama › Marion › Southland Nursing Home

Southland Nursing Home

500 Shivers Terrace, Marion, AL 367563346836141Ownership: For profit - CorporationCertified beds: 91Avg. daily residents: 65County: Perry
Health inspection overdue — CMS reports the most recent standard inspection is older than its normal cycle.

The complete public record on Southland Nursing Home, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Marion, Alabama, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★★★★★
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Alabama average: 3.0 stars.
Health inspection
★★★★☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★★★☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★★★★
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Southland Nursing Home holds a 5-star overall rating, in the top tier CMS assigns. Its health-inspection rating is lower than its overall rating — the overall score is being lifted by staffing or quality-measure ratings, which draw partly on facility-reported data. Federal regulators have fined this facility $5,244 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

3.91 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
about the state average (3.88)
0.52 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.65)
3.50 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

April 22, 2021 most recent standard health inspection
2 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
below the state average (3.9)
1 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$5,244 in federal fines across 1 penalty (last 3 years)
below the state average ($13,658)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

7 citations on record across recent inspections. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
April 22, 20210558Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 22, 20210880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
June 27, 20190808Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 11, 20180812Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with…F · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 11, 20180583Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 11, 20180761Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 11, 20180880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.D · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Southland Nursing Home with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Marion

Diversicare Of Marion (5★)All Marion facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.