Home › Nursing Homes by State › California › Indio › Desert Mountain Care Center

Desert Mountain Care Center

47-763 Monroe Avenue, Indio, CA 922017603470750Ownership: For profit - Limited Liability companyCertified beds: 99Avg. daily residents: 92Chain: The Ensign Group (342 facilities)County: Riverside

The complete public record on Desert Mountain Care Center, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Indio, California, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★★★☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. California average: 3.2 stars.
Health inspection
★★★☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★☆☆☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★★★★
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Desert Mountain Care Center holds a 3-star overall rating, CMS’s middle tier. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

5.21 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
above the state average (4.52)
0.60 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.67)
4.82 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

June 26, 2025 most recent standard health inspection
15 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
about the state average (15.6)
15 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$0 in federal fines across 0 penalties (last 3 years)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

46 citations on record across recent inspections. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
May 27, 20260690Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
May 13, 20260880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. ComplaintE · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 17, 20260686Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 18, 20260690Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 18, 20260697Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 18, 20260908Keep all essential equipment working safely. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 18, 20260921Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
June 26, 20250755Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
June 26, 20250812Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
June 26, 20250554Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.D · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Desert Mountain Care Center with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Indio

Desert Springs Healthcare & Wellness Centre (3★)All Indio facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.