Home › Nursing Homes by State › California › La Mesa › Grossmont Gardens Healthcare Center

Grossmont Gardens Healthcare Center

5480 Marengo Ave, La Mesa, CA 919426194630281Ownership: For profit - CorporationCounty: San Diego

The complete public record on Grossmont Gardens Healthcare Center, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in La Mesa, California, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
Not rated
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below.
Health inspection
Not rated
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
Not rated
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
Not rated
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
CMS has published limited rating data for this facility. That is common for newly certified facilities and does not by itself indicate a problem. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

Not reported total nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported RN hours per resident per day
Not reported weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

February 12, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
Not reported deficiencies, most recent cycle
$0 in federal fines across 0 penalties (last 3 years)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

16 citations on record across recent inspections. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
February 12, 20260578Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260656Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260812Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260557Honor the resident's right to be treated with respect and dignity and to retain and use personal possessions.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260605Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260686Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260755Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260759Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260761Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 12, 20260801Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service,…D · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Grossmont Gardens Healthcare Center with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in La Mesa

Arbor Hills Nursing Center (5★)Grossmont Hospital D/P SNF (5★)La Mesa Healthcare Center (5★)Community Care Center (4★)Country Manor La Mesa Healthcare Center (4★)Grossmont Post Acute Care (4★)Parkway Hills Nursing & Rehabilitation (3★)All La Mesa facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.