Home › Nursing Homes by State › Indiana › Dale › Core Of Dale

Core Of Dale

510 W Medcalf Road, Dale, IN 475238129377073Ownership: Government - City/countyCertified beds: 52Avg. daily residents: 44Chain: Major Hospital (6 facilities)County: Spencer
Special Focus Facility — CMS currently lists this facility in its program for nursing homes with a history of serious quality issues; it is inspected about twice as often as other facilities until it graduates or is terminated from Medicare.

The complete public record on Core Of Dale, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Dale, Indiana, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
Not rated
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below.
Health inspection
Not rated
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
Not rated
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
Not rated
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
CMS has published limited rating data for this facility. That is common for newly certified facilities and does not by itself indicate a problem. Federal regulators have fined this facility $12,682 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

2.99 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
below the state average (3.68)
0.42 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.67)
2.61 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover
0 administrators left in the reporting period

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

April 7, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
5 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
below the state average (7.2)
17 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$12,682 in federal fines across 1 penalty (last 3 years)
above the state average ($8,206)
1 payment denial
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

31 citations on record across recent inspections, 2 at the actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy level. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
April 7, 20260812Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 7, 20260580Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 7, 20260658Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 7, 20260577Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.C · Minimal harm potential
April 7, 20260732Post nurse staffing information every day.C · Minimal harm potential

Comparing Core Of Dale with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Dale

Willowdale Village (5★)All Dale facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.