Home › Nursing Homes by State › Indiana › Merrillville › Spring Mill Health Campus

Spring Mill Health Campus

101 W 87Th Ave, Merrillville, IN 464102197560744Ownership: Non profit - CorporationCertified beds: 64Avg. daily residents: 52Chain: Casa Consulting (7 facilities)County: Lake

The complete public record on Spring Mill Health Campus, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Merrillville, Indiana, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★☆☆☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Indiana average: 3.1 stars.
Health inspection
★★☆☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★☆☆☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★☆☆☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Spring Mill Health Campus holds a 1-star overall rating, in the bottom two tiers CMS assigns. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.
Rating trajectory: overall rating declined from 2 stars (July 2026) to 1 stars (August 2026) across 2 monthly CMS releases tracked by ClearPath.

Staffing

3.77 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
about the state average (3.68)
0.60 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.67)
3.32 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

December 9, 2025 most recent standard health inspection
8 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
above the state average (7.2)
21 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$0 in federal fines across 0 penalties (last 3 years)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

40 citations on record across recent inspections. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
June 3, 20260684Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
June 3, 20260759Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
December 9, 20250656Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
December 9, 20250684Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
December 9, 20250688Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
December 9, 20250697Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
December 9, 20250761Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
December 9, 20250842Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 1, 20250757Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
February 18, 20250620Not require residents to give up Medicare or Medicaid benefits, or pay privately as a condition of admission; and must tell residents… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Spring Mill Health Campus with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Merrillville

Brickyard Healthcare - Merrillville Care Center (1★)Lincolnshire Health & Rehabilitation Center (1★)All Merrillville facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.