Home › Nursing Homes by State › Indiana › Munster › Munster Med-Inn

Munster Med-Inn

7935 Calumet Ave, Munster, IN 463212198368300Ownership: Government - CountyCertified beds: 225Avg. daily residents: 168Chain: Casa Consulting (7 facilities)County: Lake
Special Focus Facility — CMS currently lists this facility in its program for nursing homes with a history of serious quality issues; it is inspected about twice as often as other facilities until it graduates or is terminated from Medicare.
Abuse icon — CMS displays this icon when a facility was cited for abuse that led to resident harm in the past year, or for abuse that could have led to harm in each of the last two years.

The complete public record on Munster Med-Inn, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Munster, Indiana, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
Not rated
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below.
Health inspection
Not rated
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
Not rated
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
Not rated
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
CMS has published limited rating data for this facility. That is common for newly certified facilities and does not by itself indicate a problem. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

3.43 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
below the state average (3.68)
0.41 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.67)
2.82 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

January 28, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
26 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
above the state average (7.2)
22 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$0 in federal fines across 0 penalties (last 3 years)
1 payment denial
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

57 citations on record across recent inspections, 5 at the actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy level. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
January 28, 20260600Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. ComplaintJ · Immediate jeopardy
January 28, 20260609Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. ComplaintJ · Immediate jeopardy
January 28, 20260688Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline…G · Actual harm
January 28, 20260851Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable…F · Potential for more than minimal harm
January 28, 20260554Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
January 28, 20260677Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
January 28, 20260684Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. ComplaintE · Potential for more than minimal harm
January 28, 20260761Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
January 28, 20260812Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
January 28, 20260880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.E · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Munster Med-Inn with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Munster

Rehabilitation Center At Hartsfield Village (3★)All Munster facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.