Home › Nursing Homes by State › Minnesota › Hills › Tuff Memorial Home

Tuff Memorial Home

505 East 4Th Street, Hills, MN 561385079623275Ownership: Non profit - CorporationCertified beds: 48Avg. daily residents: 39County: Rock

The complete public record on Tuff Memorial Home, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Hills, Minnesota, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★★★★☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Minnesota average: 3.2 stars.
Health inspection
★★★★★
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★☆☆☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★★★☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Tuff Memorial Home holds a 4-star overall rating, in the top tier CMS assigns. Federal regulators have fined this facility $40,240 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

Not reported total nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported RN hours per resident per day
Not reported weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
39.5% total nursing staff turnover
below the state average (42.2)
14.3% RN turnover
1 administrator left in the reporting period

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

May 26, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
0 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
below the state average (7.0)
4 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$40,240 in federal fines across 11 penalties (last 3 years)
above the state average ($23,053)
1 payment denial
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

6 citations on record across recent inspections. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
August 27, 20250867Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.F · Potential for more than minimal harm
August 27, 20250880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
August 27, 20250921Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.D · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Tuff Memorial Home with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.