Home › Nursing Homes by State › Missouri › Kirkwood › Grove At Kirkwood, The

Grove At Kirkwood, The

711 South Kirkwood Road, Kirkwood, MO 631223149650864Ownership: For profit - Limited Liability companyCertified beds: 117Avg. daily residents: 101Chain: Blue Sky Basin, LLC (5 facilities)County: St. Louis
Special Focus Facility candidate — CMS has identified this facility as one of the most poorly performing in the state and it is eligible for the Special Focus program, which brings inspections twice as often as normal.

The complete public record on Grove At Kirkwood, The, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Kirkwood, Missouri, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★☆☆☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Missouri average: 2.5 stars.
Health inspection
★☆☆☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★☆☆☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★☆☆☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Grove At Kirkwood, The holds a 1-star overall rating, in the bottom two tiers CMS assigns. Federal regulators have fined this facility $172,400 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

3.86 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
above the state average (3.43)
0.16 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.46)
3.50 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

January 29, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
54 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
above the state average (11.5)
9 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$172,400 in federal fines across 1 penalty (last 3 years)
above the state average ($36,698)
1 payment denial
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

60 citations on record across recent inspections, 8 at the actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy level. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
April 2, 20260684Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. ComplaintG · Actual harm
April 2, 20260692Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health. ComplaintG · Actual harm
April 2, 20260745Provide medically-related social services to help each resident achieve the highest possible quality of life. ComplaintG · Actual harm
April 2, 20260726Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's… ComplaintE · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 2, 20260550Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 2, 20260568Properly hold, secure, and manage each resident's personal money which is deposited with the nursing home. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 2, 20260584Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Grove At Kirkwood, The with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Kirkwood

Aberdeen Heights (5★)All Kirkwood facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.