Home › Nursing Homes by State › North Carolina › Sylva › Vero Health & Rehab Of Sylva

Vero Health & Rehab Of Sylva

417 Cloverdale Road, Sylva, NC 287798286311600Ownership: For profit - Limited Liability companyCertified beds: 106Avg. daily residents: 91Chain: Regional Health Properties (5 facilities)County: Jackson

The complete public record on Vero Health & Rehab Of Sylva, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Sylva, North Carolina, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★☆☆☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. North Carolina average: 2.9 stars.
Health inspection
★☆☆☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★★☆☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★☆☆☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Vero Health & Rehab Of Sylva holds a 1-star overall rating, in the bottom two tiers CMS assigns. Federal regulators have fined this facility $359,818 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

3.74 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
about the state average (3.83)
0.93 RN hours per resident per day
above the state average (0.61)
3.40 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

August 14, 2025 most recent standard health inspection
7 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
above the state average (4.8)
43 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$359,818 in federal fines across 4 penalties (last 3 years)
above the state average ($36,163)
2 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

53 citations on record across recent inspections, 13 at the actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy level. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
August 14, 20250851Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable…F · Potential for more than minimal harm
August 14, 20250558Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
August 14, 20250578Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
August 14, 20250883Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
August 14, 20250887Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
August 14, 20250570Assure the security of all personal funds of residents deposited with the facility.C · Minimal harm potential
August 14, 20250577Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.C · Minimal harm potential

Comparing Vero Health & Rehab Of Sylva with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Sylva

Skyland Care Center (4★)All Sylva facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.