Home › Nursing Homes by State › Texas › Abilene › Mesa Springs Healthcare Center

Mesa Springs Healthcare Center

7171 Buffalo Gap Rd, Abilene, TX 796063256928080Ownership: For profit - CorporationCertified beds: 89Avg. daily residents: 68Chain: The Ensign Group (342 facilities)County: Taylor

The complete public record on Mesa Springs Healthcare Center, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Abilene, Texas, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★★☆☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Texas average: 2.6 stars.
Health inspection
★★★☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★☆☆☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★★★☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Mesa Springs Healthcare Center holds a 2-star overall rating, in the bottom two tiers CMS assigns. Federal regulators have fined this facility $8,190 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

3.45 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
about the state average (3.39)
0.48 RN hours per resident per day
above the state average (0.43)
3.00 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

March 19, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
10 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
above the state average (9.3)
23 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$8,190 in federal fines across 1 penalty (last 3 years)
below the state average ($45,542)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

33 citations on record across recent inspections, 1 at the actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy level. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
April 15, 20260607Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 19, 20260851Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable…F · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 19, 20260695Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 19, 20260700Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2)…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 19, 20260804Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 19, 20260812Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 19, 20260656Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 19, 20260943Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and…B · Minimal harm potential
March 19, 20260944Conduct mandatory training, for all staff, on the facility’s Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement Program.B · Minimal harm potential
March 19, 20260946Provide training in compliance and ethics.B · Minimal harm potential

Comparing Mesa Springs Healthcare Center with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Abilene

Wesley Court Health Center (5★)Windcrest Health & Rehabilitation (3★)Wisteria Place (3★)Avir At Coronado (2★)The Oaks At Radford Hills Healthcare Center (2★)Willowcreek Rehab And Nursing (2★)Brightpointe At Lytle Lake (1★)Silver Spring (1★)All Abilene facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.