Home › Nursing Homes by State › Texas › Big Lake › Reagan County Care Center

Reagan County Care Center

1300 North Main, Big Lake, TX 769323258845614Ownership: For profit - CorporationCertified beds: 36Avg. daily residents: 30County: Reagan

The complete public record on Reagan County Care Center, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Big Lake, Texas, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★★★☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Texas average: 2.6 stars.
Health inspection
★★★★☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★★★☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★☆☆☆☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Reagan County Care Center holds a 3-star overall rating, CMS’s middle tier. Federal regulators have fined this facility $111,168 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

4.78 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
above the state average (3.39)
0.59 RN hours per resident per day
above the state average (0.43)
4.33 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

May 15, 2025 most recent standard health inspection
5 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
below the state average (9.3)
5 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$111,168 in federal fines across 18 penalties (last 3 years)
above the state average ($45,542)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

12 citations on record across recent inspections. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
January 14, 20260644Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
May 15, 20250851Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable…F · Potential for more than minimal harm
May 15, 20250880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. ComplaintE · Potential for more than minimal harm
May 15, 20250657Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
May 15, 20250812Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 4, 20240921Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public. ComplaintF · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 4, 20240637Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition ComplaintE · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 4, 20240880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. ComplaintE · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 4, 20240656Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 4, 20240761Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Reagan County Care Center with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.