Home › Nursing Homes by State › West Virginia › Parkersburg › Ohio Valley Health Care

Ohio Valley Health Care

222 Nicolette Road, Parkersburg, WV 261043044855137Ownership: For profit - CorporationCertified beds: 66Avg. daily residents: 62Chain: Wvu Medicine (7 facilities)County: Wood

The complete public record on Ohio Valley Health Care, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Parkersburg, West Virginia, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★☆☆☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. West Virginia average: 3.0 stars.
Health inspection
★★★☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★☆☆☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★☆☆☆☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Ohio Valley Health Care holds a 1-star overall rating, in the bottom two tiers CMS assigns. Federal regulators have fined this facility $21,580 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

3.44 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
below the state average (3.66)
0.51 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.73)
3.20 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

March 18, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
11 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
below the state average (11.6)
11 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$21,580 in federal fines across 1 penalty (last 3 years)
below the state average ($29,391)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

29 citations on record across recent inspections, 1 at the actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy level. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
March 18, 20260880Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.F · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260656Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260726Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260838Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both…E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260947Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260580Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260637Assess the resident when there is a significant change in conditionD · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260657Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health…D · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260689Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
March 18, 20260692Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.D · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Ohio Valley Health Care with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Parkersburg

Eagle Pointe Healthcare Center (2★)Worthington Healthcare Center (2★)Parkersburg Center (1★)Willows Center (1★)All Parkersburg facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.