Home › Nursing Homes by State › Arizona › Chinle › Dr Guy Gorman Sr Care Home

Dr Guy Gorman Sr Care Home

Highway 191 & Hospital Road, Chinle, AZ 865039286745216Ownership: Non profit - CorporationCertified beds: 80Avg. daily residents: 51County: Apache
Special Focus Facility candidate — CMS has identified this facility as one of the most poorly performing in the state and it is eligible for the Special Focus program, which brings inspections twice as often as normal.

The complete public record on Dr Guy Gorman Sr Care Home, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Chinle, Arizona, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★☆☆☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Arizona average: 3.3 stars.
Health inspection
★☆☆☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★★★☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★★★☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Dr Guy Gorman Sr Care Home holds a 1-star overall rating, in the bottom two tiers CMS assigns. Federal regulators have fined this facility $127,634 in the last three years. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

4.09 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
about the state average (3.97)
0.45 RN hours per resident per day
below the state average (0.70)
3.38 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

July 25, 2025 most recent standard health inspection
17 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
above the state average (6.3)
33 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$127,634 in federal fines across 2 penalties (last 3 years)
above the state average ($8,663)
2 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

60 citations on record across recent inspections, 3 at the actual-harm or immediate-jeopardy level. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
July 25, 20250700Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2)… ComplaintF · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250851Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable…F · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250947Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.E · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250580Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250609Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250610Respond appropriately to all alleged violations. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250627Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250640Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment. ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250641Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
July 25, 20250657Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health… ComplaintD · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Dr Guy Gorman Sr Care Home with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.