Home › Nursing Homes by State › Arizona › Tucson › Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson

Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson

555 East Ajo Way, Tucson, AZ 857135206382150Ownership: Government - StateCertified beds: 120Avg. daily residents: 117County: Pima

The complete public record on Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson, a Medicare & Medicaid–certified nursing home in Tucson, Arizona, from the CMS Care Compare database (August 2026 release). Every figure below is published by federal regulators; ClearPath adds the state comparisons and the plain-English reading.

CMS Star Ratings

Overall rating
★★★☆☆
CMS’s composite of the three ratings below. Arizona average: 3.3 stars.
Health inspection
★★★☆☆
Based on the last three years of on-site inspections and complaint investigations — the rating CMS weights most heavily.
Staffing
★★★☆☆
Nurse and aide hours per resident per day, adjusted for how much care residents need, plus staff turnover.
Quality measures
★★★★☆
Clinical outcomes CMS tracks, such as falls with injury, pressure ulcers and hospital readmissions.
Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson holds a 3-star overall rating, CMS’s middle tier. None of this tells you whether a bed is open, whether your insurance is in network, or whether the facility will accept a given level of care — confirm those three directly with the facility before you commit.

Staffing

5.05 total nurse staff hours per resident per day
above the state average (3.97)
0.70 RN hours per resident per day
about the state average (0.70)
4.63 weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
Not reported total nursing staff turnover
Not reported RN turnover

Hours are per resident per day, from payroll-based journal data facilities submit to CMS. Turnover is the share of nursing staff who left over the past year.

Inspections & Penalties

April 10, 2026 most recent standard health inspection
6 health deficiencies cited in the most recent inspection cycle
below the state average (6.3)
3 health deficiencies in the two prior cycles combined
$0 in federal fines across 0 penalties (last 3 years)
0 payment denials
CMS withholding Medicare/Medicaid payment for new admissions until problems were fixed

Recent Inspection Citations

15 citations on record across recent inspections. Showing the most recent inspection. Severity uses CMS’s A–L scope-and-severity scale; G and above means residents were actually harmed.

InspectionTagWhat was citedSeverity
April 10, 20260851Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable…F · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 10, 20260644Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.D · Potential for more than minimal harm
April 10, 20260645PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual DisabilitiesD · Potential for more than minimal harm

Comparing Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson with others on your list?

A ClearPath report puts up to five facilities side by side on the full record — every citation explained in plain English, staffing and turnover compared, fines and flags surfaced, and the questions to ask on your tour. Ready in minutes. Nursing home reports from $47, one-time. Paid by families, never by facilities.

Compare this facility →See a free sample report first

Other Nursing Homes in Tucson

Haven Of Saguaro Valley (5★)The Center At Tucson (5★)Brookdale Santa Catalina (4★)Catalina Post Acute And Rehabilitation (4★)Mountain View Care Center (4★)Park Avenue Health And Rehabilitation Center (4★)Sabino Canyon Rehabilitation & Care Center (4★)Casas Adobes Post Acute Rehab Center (3★)All Tucson facilities →

Source: CMS Care Compare (data.cms.gov), August 2026 monthly release. Figures are as published by CMS and change monthly; ClearPath refreshes automatically. ClearPath Senior Guide is an independent information service, accepts no referral fees or placement incentives from any facility, and does not recommend facilities. Verify current details with the facility.